Springe zum Hauptbereich
All State Museums in Schleswig-HolsteinAll State Museums in SH

History

Due to a royal privilege, Jews have been allowed to settle in Rendsburg/Neuwerk since 1692. Therefore, the town bordering with Altona, Glückstadt and Friedrichstadt is also described as a so-called tolerance town or “religious sanctuary”. The pre-requisite for settlement is building or purchasing a house. If this pre-requisite is not met, Jews receive restricted community rights. 

Therefore, the tolerance towns offer the Jews considerably better living conditions than normal at other locations. In 1695, a Jewish cemetery is established south of the town, in Westerrönfeld. In 1732, the first synagogue is built in Prinzessinstraße, Rendsburg/Neuwerk, from which no architectural testaments have been handed down.

During the 1830s, a new Talmud-Torah school is established in Prinzessinstraße which, in addition to religion and Hebrew lessons, offers Jewish children all the primary school subjects. Up until the present day, the school building has remained part of the Jewish Museum’s ensemble.

In 1844/5, the synagogue is built next to the school and has remained preserved until now. Back then, the Jewish community boasted some 300 members, more than ever since. 

19th century: The legal equalisation has profound effects on the Jewish communities

During the mid-19th century (in the Holstein region in 1863), Jews are to the greatest extent legally equalised with other citizens. It is a ground-breaking cut in the history of the Jewish communities, because so-called emancipation of the Jews is also connected with the freedom of establishment. As a result, several people leave the tolerance towns and move to cities such as Kiel, Lübeck and Hamburg. As a result, the Jewish community in Rendsburg becomes smaller and smaller during the course of the following decades. 

In 1933, only 30 community members still lived in the town. The synagogue is desecrated during the “Reichspogromnacht” [Night of Broken Glass]. A bomb attack destroys the so-called Torah Shrine. In the wake of Ayranisation, the synagogue is sold and then used for many decades as a fish smokehouse. In 1942, the Jewish Community in Rendsburg is eradicated after almost 250 years. It is planned to deport the community leader, Julius Magnus. Before this, he and his wife commit suicide.

After World War 2: The public focus only turned to the synagogue during the 1970s

At the end of the 1970s, public focus turns to the synagogue - which has been used as a fish smokehouse since the NS era. It should be restored and become a historic architectural monument, supported by the town and state. A cultural centre is established there in 1985. Simultaneously, the Jewish Museum is founded in 1988. 

During the course of time, the museum work has become more and more professional. In 2002, the Jewish Museum became part of the Schleswig-Holstein State Museums Foundation Schloss Gottorf Since then, the house Prinzessinstraße 7 and 8 is viewed as a historic architectural monument and memorial place for former Jewish life in the state.

Visitors repeatedly ask why the synagogue is not again used as a Jewish place of worship. This has to do with the fact that the Rendsburg community was not founded again after World War 2 because only a handful of Jews still lived in Schleswig-Holstein. 

Why the synagogue is not again used as a place of worship

This only changes during the 1990s when so-called “Jewish quota refugees” from the former Soviet Union are allowed to immigrate to the Federal Republic of Germany - a gesture of reparation. As a result of this, some 2,000 East-European Jews settle in Schleswig-Holstein. Since then, nine new Jewish communities have been founded in the state. However, to-date not in Rendsburg.

Schleswig-Holstein State Museums
schliessen
Nach oben scrollen

Spinge zum Hauptbereich
Alle Landesmuseen in Schleswig-HolsteinAlle Landesmuseen in SH

Zur Geschichte

Seit 1692 dürfen sich Juden in Rendsburg/Neuwerk aufgrund eines königlichen Privilegs niederlassen. Daher wird die Stadt neben Altona, Glückstadt und Friedrichstadt auch als sogenannte Toleranzstadt oder „religiöse Freistätte“ bezeichnet. Voraussetzung für die Niederlassung ist der Bau oder Erwerb eines Hauses. Ist diese Voraussetzung erfüllt, erhalten Juden das eingeschränkte Ortsbürgerrecht. 

Die Toleranzstädte bieten den Juden damit wesentlich bessere Lebensbedingungen, als an anderen Orten üblich. 1695 wird südlich der Stadt in Westerrönfeld ein jüdischer Friedhof angelegt. 1732 wird in Rendsburg/Neuwerk in der Prinzessinstraße eine erste Synagoge gebaut, von der aber keine baulichen Spuren überliefert sind.
 
In den 1830er Jahren wird eine neue Talmud-Tora-Schule in der Prinzessinstraße errichtet, die neben Religions- und Hebräischunterricht alle Fächer einer Elementarschule für jüdische Kinder anbietet. Das Schulgebäude gehört bis heute zum Ensemble des Jüdischen Museums.
1844/45 wird unmittelbar neben der Schule die Synagoge gebaut, die bis heute erhalten ist. Die jüdische Gemeinde hat damals mit etwa 300 Mitglieder, mehr als jemals danach. 

19. Jahrhundert: Die rechtliche Gleichstellung hat grundlegende Auswirkungen auf die jüdischen Gemeinden

Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts (im Landesteil Holstein im Jahr 1863) werden Juden anderen Bürgern rechtlich weitgehend gleichgestellt. Es ist ein bahnbrechender Einschnitt in der Geschichte der jüdischen Gemeinden. Denn mit der sogenannten Judenemanzipation ist auch die Niederlassungsfreiheit verbunden. Viele Menschen verlassen daraufhin die Toleranzstädte und ziehen in Großstädte wie Kiel, Lübeck und Hamburg. Die jüdische Gemeinde in Rendsburg wird infolgedessen im Laufe der Jahrzehnte immer kleiner. 

1933 leben nur noch 30 Gemeindemitglieder in der Stadt. Während der Reichspogromnacht wird die Synagoge geschändet. Durch einen Sprengstoffanschlag wird der sogenannte Toraschrein zerstört. Im Zuge der „Arisierung“ wird die Synagoge verkauft und danach jahrzehntelang als Fischräucherei genutzt. 1942 ist die Jüdische Gemeinde Rendsburg nach fast 250 Jahren erloschen. Der Gemeindevorsteher, Julius Magnus, soll deportiert werden. Er nimmt sich zuvor mit seiner Ehefrau das Leben.

Nach dem 2. Weltkrieg: Die Synagoge gerät erst in den 1970ern wieder in den Fokus der Öffentlichkeit 

Ende der 1970er Jahre gerät die Synagoge - die seit der NS-Zeit als Fischräucherei genutzt wird - wieder ins Bewusstsein der Öffentlichkeit. Sie soll mit Unterstützung von Stadt und Land restauriert und zum historischen Baudenkmal werden. 1985 wird dort ein Kulturzentrum eingerichtet. 1988 wird parallel das Jüdische Museum gegründet. 

Im Laufe der Jahre wird die Museumsarbeit immer stärker professionalisiert. 2002 wird das Jüdische Museum Teil der Stiftung Schleswig-Holsteinische Landesmuseen Schloss Gottorf. Das Haus in der Prinzessinstraße 7 und /8 versteht sich ein seither als Museum, als historisches Baudenkmal und als Gedenkstätte für das einstige jüdische Leben im Land.

Besucher stellen immer wieder die Frage, warum die Synagoge nicht wieder als jüdisches Gotteshaus genutzt wird. Das liegt daran, dass die Rendsburger Gemeinde nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg nicht wiedergegründet wurde, weil in ganz Schleswig-Holstein nur noch sehr wenige jüdische Mitbürger lebten. 

Warum die Synagoge nicht wieder als Gotteshaus genutzt wird

Das ändert sich erst in den 1990er Jahren, als sogenannte "jüdische Kontingentflüchtlinge" aus der ehemaligen Sowjetunion in die Bundesrepublik Deutschland einwandern dürfen - eine Geste der Wiedergutmachung. Infolgedessen siedeln sich rund 2.000 osteuropäische Juden in Schleswig-Holstein an. Seitdem wurden im Land insgesamt neun neue jüdische Gemeinden gegründet. In Rendsburg gibt es allerdings bis heute keine mehr.

 

 

Landesmuseen Schleswig-Holstein
schliessen
Nach oben scrollen